A Week in the Bear House – Day 4 – Friday

Day four of our home educating week. The first three days can be found here: day one, day two, day three.

5:30am
Teddy is up. He asks to watch Cars2 on Netflix, so we snuggle down together under a blanket on the sofa. After a while, he moves to the floor and lies on his back running cars on his tummy as he watches. I decide to catch up on my blog, which takes longer than I expect it to.

6:30am
I add the car mat and garage, and make hot chocolate. Teddy is still happy watching Cars2, so I get back to my blog while it is quiet.

7:30am
Little Bear gets up (with a little help from his brother!) Daddy Bear mutters he will be up as well, any minute, so I pop some croissants and pain chocolats in the oven the heat up. These are Little Bear’s favourite breakfast food. The small bears eat theirs whilst watching Octonauts and Abney and Teal, so DaddyBear and I get to have a chat.

9am
Daddy Bear goes to work, and the small bears are still busy watching TV, so I take the opportunity to shower and get dressed leisurely. I spend a bit of time sorting out some bits and pieces I need to post tomorrow, making a small pile to deal with later.

9:30am
Little Bear decides he wants to build a train track, and he needs help. He does like to have a train track out, and likes to decide where the various tunnels, junctions and turntable are placed, but prefers someone else to do the building! Teddy fancies playing with trains too, and the arguing begins before the track is even finished. Negotiating is not working, so Teddy and I go upstairs for a bit, to read and snuggle on his bed. He plays for a little while in his room, and I fold laundry.

10:15am
I suggest we pop into town to pick up the mugs the boys painted as gifts the other week. Teddy gets very upset, crying, he doesn’t want to go out. This is becoming a more regular occurrence, he just wants to stay home. Since I already had to drag him out when he didn’t want to this week, I decide that the mugs can wait until tomorrow. Teddy returns to playing in his room.

 

11am
Teddy decides he would like to do some painting, so I set him up with paper and paints at the easel. He loves to paint, and creates some beautiful pieces of abstract art. He doesn’t name or label his work yet, but is clearly very interested in how colours mix together and how the way he uses the brush affects the marks he makes.

12pm
We eat lunch and talk about what we would like to do this afternoon. Inspired by a friend, whose son adores Frozen, I suggest it. I expect the reaction to be lukewarm (historically, it has not been Little Bear’s favourite film), but to my surprise he agrees. I tidy up whilst he prepares (fetches a blanket, sits on the sofa and shouts for me). Teddy joins us for a few minutes, then pinches some of my yarn (I am crocheting a new blanket) and sits winding it around a toy train whilst singing to himself. 
Little Bear is chatty during the film. We talk about: what makes ice; caribou and why they call the one on the film a reindeer; how pretty snowflakes are; when it might snow here; and lots about the relationships between characters. I have noticed recently how the emotions of characters in films seem to affect him strongly, he gets very angry with anyone who is sad or not behaving nicely, but the plot seems to leave him behind quite quickly. He needs me to explain why people behave the way they do quite often, particularly when they are not telling each other the truth.

3:30pm

Film over, I potter a bit. Little Bear pulls out a dinosaur book and disappears to the nook next to the sofa. A few minutes later he is in the kitchen looking for an egg. After some heated discussion, it turns out he wants to paint an egg as a dinosaur egg, like the one pictured in his book. So I explain that a raw egg might get broken and pop one on to boil. Teddy is playing with cars on the mat, on his tummy, in the sand, back on his tummy and across the sofa.

4pm
The egg is boiled, and Little Bear settles down to paint it using the paint left over from Teddy’s painting earlier. It doesn’t take him long, and afterwards I suggest he checks his snails. I usually check them everyday, and spray their tank with a bit of water. They don’t need a lot of care. Little Bear ‘exercises’ them on a tray every few days, and tops up their food.

5pm

It is tea time, and the boys are hungry. Then boisterous. Something very noisy is going on in the living room whilst I clear up in the kitchen, but I try not to intervene unless it is dangerous or someone is getting hurt. They get it out of their system, then help tidy up the living room. Teddy does some jigsaws whilst Little Bear flops around on the sofa, and eventually we all head upstairs.

6:15pm
Teddy is tired, and not all that bothered about stories tonight. He sits through half of Dig Dig Digging, then asks to turn the light out. We watch kitten videos on my phone for a few minutes, and he turns over and goes to sleep.

7:30

Daddy Bear is home, playing HeroQuest with Little Bear in his room. I settle down to wrap parcels that need posting tomorrow. Then Little Bear suddenly comes down to find me, very upset. He thinks he may have swallowed a piece of Lego, just a small one, and he thinks it is going to get stuck in his pipes so he can’t breath and he’ll die. It takes a while to calm him down, he is very frightened, but at last I persuade him that it will probably just pass through and he won’t even know. He admits that he isn’t even sure he swallowed it… 
HeroQuest is abandoned, and Little Bear snuggles into bed with me. He chooses The Twits, and we read a few chapters until his eyes start drooping. Despite being very tired, once the light is off he starts worrying about the Lego again, and I need to help him calm down again. I agree to come and fetch him when I go to bed, and bring him into the family bed, so I can keep an eye on him over night, and he relaxes and sleeps.

9:30pm
Downstairs again, I finish wrapping my parcels, potter on Facebook briefly, then go to bed. Little Bear hears me and arrives before I am even in my pyjamas. We snuggle in together, and he falls back to sleep quickly. A few moments later and the thud of Teddy’s footsteps also make their way to my bed, and he cuddles in. It is cosy between my two bears.

2 thoughts on “A Week in the Bear House – Day 4 – Friday

  1. Pingback: A Week in the Bear House – Day 5 – Saturday | Bear and Ted

  2. Pingback: A Week in the Bear House – Day 6 – Sunday | Bear and Ted

Leave a Reply

